Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GameTap Celebrates Sonic's 15th Anniversary With Rare Content From Import-Only Console, Lock-On Genesis Games, And New TV-On-The-Web Programming

Fri 23 Jun 2006 7:59am GMT / 3:59am EDT / 12:59am PDT



This week, GameTap is celebrating the 15th anniversary of Sonic with an array of hard to find content that will make fans of SEGA's speedy hedgehog blue with envy. Among the exciting additions to the industry's largest catalogue of video games on demand is the rare SG-1000 Japanese-only 8-bit console featuring "Girl's Garden," the first game ever created by Yuji Naka. GameTap will also have plenty of other SG-1000 games for subscribers to enjoy.

Sonic's birthday wouldn't be complete without three new lock-on SEGA Genesis titles: "Sonic The Hedgehog and Knuckles," "Knuckles the Echidna in Sonic the Hedgehog 2", and "Sonic 3 - Sonic The Hedgehog & Knuckles." GameTap TV will also air the following shows:

  • Tapped In: Sonic (explores the great stories behind one of the greatest characters in video games)
  • Sonic Anniversary Spot (a trailer that celebrates Sonic's anniversary, his exploits over the years, and his games in GameTap).
  • Survival Guide: Tails Adventure (an expert teaches a novice player tips and tricks for becoming Sonic.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now