Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Games BAFTAs to be broadcast live

Wed 06 Jan 2010 6:04pm GMT / 1:04pm EST / 10:04am PST
Events

Charity confirms live-streaming debut for March ceremony

BAFTA

BAFTA is the leading independent charity supporting, developing and promoting the art forms of the moving...

bafta.org

BAFTA has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that this year's Games Awards will be broadcast live via the Internet.

Viewers will be able to watch the ceremony, taking place on March 19, on both the BAFTA and Awards sponsor GAME websites.

In a statement released to GamesIndustry.biz this afternoon, Kelly Smith - BAFTA's head of videogames - said: "In a first for a BAFTA Awards ceremony, this year's GAME British Academy Video Games Awards will be streamed live, broadcasting on both the BAFTA and GAME websites on Friday, March 19.

"The decision to stream the Awards was made by the BAFTA Video Games Committee with the aim of reaching the maximum audience of videogame fans and therefore further promoting the creative work of the industry as widely as possible. More details about the Awards will be announced shortly."

Jury panels to determine the winners of this year's awards, due to be held at London's Hilton Park Lane, convene later this month.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now