Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Fils-Aime speaks out about Wii shortages

Thu 24 Apr 2008 7:51am GMT / 3:51am EDT / 12:51am PDT
RetailHardware

Nintendo of America's president says the average Wii console stays on the shelf for just one hour

Nintendo of America's president, Reggie Fils-Aime, has revealed that each Wii in the US only ever sits on a retail shelf for about an hour before being bought.

Talking with Wired magazine, Fils-Aime spoke about the company's strategy and lamented the US stock shortages that have left many consumers unable to find and buy a Wii.

"We are passionately upset about the lack of product relative to demand," Fils-Aime explained to the magazine.

He went on to complain that it is Nintendo in Japan that decides on the production numbers and that Nintendo of America does its best to remind its parent company of missed opportunities. However, Fils-Aime reiterated the point that the US received 40 per cent of all the 1.8 million Wii consoles produced each month.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now