Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Fallout 3 leaked online three weeks before release

Fri 10 Oct 2008 7:50am GMT / 3:50am EDT / 12:50am PDT
Online

Xbox 360 version of Bethesda title hacked and freely available to download

Bethesda Softworks

The Bethesda Softworks division, founded in 1986, has a long history of success as a developer and publisher...

bethsoft.com

Code of Bethesda's highly-anticipated follow-up to Oblivion, Fallout 3, has already been leaked onto the internet and is available on various torrent sites.

The official game isn't due for release until October 28 in the US and October 31 in Europe, but the Xbox 360 version of the game has been hacked and at the time of writing had well over 2000 people downloading the 6.52GB file on one site alone.

The hacked version of the game would only be playable on an illegally modified Xbox 360.

Although a majority of console and PC games are leaked online before the official release, for a game to be distributed illegally three weeks before it hits the shops highlights the demand for pirated material from users - and the holes in security measures designed to prevent illegal copying of games.

1 Comment

Arseny Lebedev
Marketing Associate

6 0 0.0
Think this was a problem at the cd production plant?

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now