Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Europe gets EUR 50 Wii price cut

Fri 25 Sep 2009 9:54am GMT / 5:54am EDT / 2:54am PDT
RetailHardware

But trade drop won't change £179.99 price for consumers in UK

The price of the Nintendo Wii has dropped to EUR 199 across Europe, leaving the UK the only region to not benefit from a price cut.

As reported earlier in the week, the Wii will still retail around the GBP 179 price in the UK when a new Wii Sports Resort and MotionPlus bundle is introduced in October, despite Nintendo lowering the trade price for the console.

GamesIndustry.biz understands that retailers such as Amazon, Play.com, GAME and HMV will continue to sell the new bundle for around GBP 179.99, the same as the current offering.

Yesterday Nintendo announced significant price cuts for the US and Japan, the first time in almost three years since the console was first introduced.

1 Comment

Jérôme Ponset Business Developer, Magic Pockets

5 0 0.0
If you look at the EUR/GBP conversion rate, you'll see that the price remain lower in the UK than in the eurozone...

179.99GBP = 196.23EUR right now (25th september 2009, 11:52AM GMT)

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now