Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Encryption chip will end piracy, open markets, says Bushnell

Fri 23 May 2008 5:27pm GMT / 1:27pm EDT / 10:27am PDT
People

Industry pioneer Nolan Bushnell says the TPM chip will allow for increased revenues in Asian and India

Speaking at yesterday's Wedbush Morgan Securities annual Management Access Conference, the Atari founder suggested that game piracy will soon be a thing of the past thanks to a new chip.

"There is a stealth encryption chip called a TPM that is going on the motherboards of most of the computers that are coming out now," he pointed out

"What that says is that in the games business we will be able to encrypt with an absolutely verifiable private key in the encryption world - which is uncrackable by people on the internet and by giving away passwords - which will allow for a huge market to develop in some of the areas where piracy has been a real problem."

Bushnell thinks that piracy of movies and music, however, is probably unstoppable because "if you can watch it and you can hear it, you can copy it."

"Games are a different thing, because games are so integrated with the code. The TPM will, in fact, absolutely stop piracy of gameplay.

"As soon as the installed base of the TPM hardware chip gets large enough, we will start to see revenues coming from Asia and India at a time when before it didn't make sense."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now