Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA exec crosses fingers for Sony's future

Tue 03 Mar 2009 1:18pm GMT / 8:18am EST / 5:18am PST
Business

Glen Schofield hopes "great" PS3 partner can weather current woes

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Having the most expensive console on the market by a distance during a global recession is unlikely to have featured in Sony's original PlayStation 3 masterplan. But that is where the company finds itself today, and declining hardware sales, contrasting with rivals' fortunes, have increased pressure on the Japanese firm.

But rumours of an imminent price cut are circling, which, if correct, would be music to the ears of retailers and publishing partners. Not least Electronic Arts, one of many firms to have invested heavily in the future success of the platform.

Speaking to GamesIndustry.biz, Redwood Shores general manager Glen Schofield revealed his fears over the positioning of the console in the market, agreeing that the pricepoint placed PS3 as a luxury item in difficult economic times.

"I'm really not sure what's going on with Sony," he said. "They've been such a great, great partner and PlayStation 2 being such a great machine that, God, I hope they get out of this and they figure it out and they're around for a long time."

He refused outright to call for a price cut, stating: "You know, I can't tell them what to do. I don't know their finances." But Schofield added that it was good for health of the whole industry to have three successful home consoles in the market. "I love having the three major machines like that."

Redwood Shores' most recently released Dead Space to critical acclaim. The next title from the studio will be Dante's Inferno.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now