Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

DS sells over 10 million in UK

Thu 10 Dec 2009 10:18am GMT / 5:18am EST / 2:18am PST
BusinessRetailPublishing

Reaches milestone quicker than Sony's PlayStation 2, becomes best-selling console in region

Nintendo's DS handheld has sold over 10 million units in the UK, according to data from GfK Chart-Track, becoming the best-selling console in the region's history.

The console has passed the 10 million mark faster than Sony's PlayStation 2, and Nintendo estimates 1-in-6 people in the UK have a DS.

"Nintendo's Touch Generations range of software, which has been expanding the definition of videogame, has resonated strongly with people of all ages, extending its appeal to a non-traditional gaming audience, which now sees people aged between five and 95 picking up and playing Nintendo DS consoles," offered Nintendo.

"The achievements of titles such as Dr Kawashima’s Brain Training: How Old Is You Brain? and More Brain Training alongside recent launches including 100 Classic Book Collection and 42 All-Time Classics, has seen the Nintendo DS system significantly expand the audience traditionally associated with videogames."

The system was first released in the region in March 2005.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now