Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

D3P considers appeal over Dark Sector ban

Fri 15 Feb 2008 9:18am GMT / 4:18am EST / 1:18am PST

D3Publisher has told GamesIndustry.biz that its Australian distributor may be considering an appeal over the banning of upcoming PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 title Dark Sector.

Digital Extremes

Digital Extremes is a privately held company that creates and licenses the Evolution Engine, and creates...

digitalextremes.com

D3Publisher has told GamesIndustry.biz that its Australian distributor may be considering an appeal over the banning of upcoming PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 title Dark Sector.

The game has been refused a rating in Australia by the Office of Film and Literature Classification, effectively banning the game from sale in the region.

"AFA Interactive, the publisher's exclusive distributor in Australia, is considering an appeal on the decision and will not rule out the eventual launch of the title with the OFLC's approval," said a spokesperson for D3P Europe.

Dark Sector has been developed by Canadian studio Digital Extremes. Only last week, newly appointed Euro MD Adam Roberts — responsible for Australia as part of the PAL region — stated that the game was one of the big titles for the company.

"These are very exciting times for D3PE with Dark Sector shaping up to be one of the key action titles of 2008," he said.

This week, the BBFC cleared the game for release in the UK, stamping it with an 18 certificate but making no cuts to content.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now