Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

CCP plays down EVE Online source code leak

Tue 15 Apr 2008 12:27pm GMT / 8:27am EDT / 5:27am PDT
Online

Developer says no security, privacy or billing issues following code appearing on torrent sites

Developer CCP has moved to reassure consumers that the leak of the source code for EVE Online will not jeopardise security for the games subscribers.

The source code has appeared on a number of torrent tracking websites this week, but CCP says that neither players, the game or the developer itself faces any risks.

"CCP is aware that an individual claims to have access to the source code of the EVE client. This access is not a security risk to CCP in any way," stated the developer.

"Access to the source code for the EVE client exposes no security vulnerabilities, has no privacy protection issues, and poses no threat to our customers' billing information.

"The server-side interface used by the client is carefully protected to ensure that no abusive or unwanted information is transmitted to, or from the internal EVE server systems. Nothing the EVE client can do can affect the game state, no advantage can be gained by manipulating the EVE client, no advantageous or disadvantageous information can be transmitted to other EVE users by altering the EVE client," added the company.

Although the company has acknowledged the theft of the game source code, it would not disclose any information on how the code had been accessed.

"CCP does not confirm or deny, nor make any comment, regarding issues of internal security, and will not be doing so in this case," it said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now