Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Apple hypes games for new iPod touch

Wed 10 Sep 2008 9:41am GMT / 5:41am EDT / 2:41am PDT
Hardware

iPod touch is "the best portable device for playing games," says Jobs

Apple boss Steve Jobs announced that the iPod touch is "the best portable device for playing games" during the Mac and iPod giant's San Francisco "Let's Rock" event yesterday, which also saw the unveiling of a new-generation of the touch-screen, tilt-sensitive handheld.

The new touch is slimmer, with a contoured reverse, a built-in speaker and physical volume controls along the left side, wireless support for Nike+, and promises of a longer battery life - around 36 hours for music and six hours for video. It also works with the newly-launched iTunes 8's "Genius" facility for generating playlists based on any song the user selects.

Jobs also announced that the iTunes App Store sold 100 million items in its first 60 days, and as the iPod touch section of his speech tapered off the stage was given over to marketing exec Phil Schiller, who demonstrated Spore Origins, before moving on to Gameloft's Real Soccer 2009 and Need for Speed Undercover.

But although Jobs reports there are "about 700 games on the App Store, [and] some of them are getting pretty fantastic", iPod touch still commands a high asking price compared to rival gaming devices.

The new unit costs GBP 169 for an 8GB model, GBP 219 for 16GB, and GBP 289 for 32GB. Sony's new PSP-3000, announced at Games Convention, will cost GBP 149.99 when it goes on sale in mid-October, while the Nintendo DS Lite costs around GBP 99.

Thanks to Engadget.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now