Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Pokemon franchise crosses 200 million units sold

By Mike Williams

Pokemon franchise crosses 200 million units sold

Thu 17 Mar 2016 11:00pm GMT / 7:00pm EDT / 4:00pm PDT
Business

With Sun and Moon on the way, Pokemon passes another milestone

The Pokemon franchise has sold over 200 million units worldwide. The news comes via Yahoo Japan (translated by NeoGAF), who received a press release confirming the milestone. The 200 million units sold is as of February 29, 2016 and includes the recent Virtual Console releases of Pokemon Red, Green, Blue, and Yellow. Adding in spin-offs, the franchise has crossed 279 million units sold.

The first Pokemon games launched in 1995 and the series passed the 100 million milestone some time in 2005, following the release of Pokemon FireRed/LeafGreen. That puts the series at around 100 million units sold per decade, which is solid company to be in.

Pokemon Sun/Moon is scheduled for release this holiday season. The launch will mark the first time the series has been available in Tradition and Simplified Chinese, opening up the games to a whole new market.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now