Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Dan Pinchbeck wins Writer's Guild award

By Dan Pearson

Dan Pinchbeck wins Writer's Guild award

Tue 19 Jan 2016 10:41am GMT / 5:41am EST / 2:41am PST
People

Chinese Room co-founder picks up prize for Everybody's Gone to the Rapture

The Chinese Room's Dan Pinchbeck, who co-founded the studio with composer Jessica Curry, has received the Writers' Guild award for best video game writing in 2015.

Pinchbeck was honoured for last year's PS4 release Everybody's Gone to the Rapture, which saw both critical and commercial acclaim for it's uneasy depiction of a bucolic English armageddon. With no combat and a deliberately gradual pace, Rapture defies many people's expectations of what a video game can be by providing a thoughtful narrative journey into an abandoned world.

Runners up in the category were Failbetter's Sunless Sea and video-based crime investigation Her Story, by Sam Barlow. The ceremony took place in London last night as the Writers' Guild celebrated its annual award giving, recognising the best writers from every branch of the media.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now