Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Staff cuts at fantasy esports site Vulcun

By Chris Buckley

Staff cuts at fantasy esports site Vulcun

Mon 11 Jan 2016 11:52pm GMT / 6:52pm EST / 3:52pm PST
eSportsJobs

"The company is transitioning to a new direction"

Fantasy esports company, which raised $12 million in Series A funding last April, has cut 14 members of staff from its 55 person team.

"The company is transitioning to a new direction, and unfortunately this is a painful but necessary part of the process," co-founder Ali Moiz told The Verge.

"We are actively helping these people look for new jobs, so if anyone is interested in hiring them, they can contact ali [at] vulcun." He added: "We'll have more announcements about our new direction coming shortly in the next few weeks."

Vulcun was founded in 2014 as a place where players can compete in both paid and free fantasy esports contests. In April 2015 Sequoia led the Series A funding round which raised $12 million and other investors included Zynga's Mark Pincus and Kabam's Kevin Chou.

According to Vulcun's website it has paid out over $10 million in prizes in the last year.

Now is a tricky time for fantasy sports with FanDuel and DraftKings, the biggest fantasy sports sites, being accused of being gambling operations by New York state's attorney general in December.

If you have jobs news to share or a new hire you want to shout about, please contact us on newhires@gamesindustry.biz

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now