Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

App Store sees $1.1 billion in sales over Christmas

By Rachel Weber

App Store sees $1.1 billion in sales over Christmas

Wed 06 Jan 2016 11:50pm GMT / 6:50pm EST / 3:50pm PST
MobileRetail

Two weeks ending January 3 are biggest ever, says Apple

Apple App Store saw users spend over $1.1 billion on apps and in-app purchases over Christmas and gaming was one of the most popular categories.

The two weeks ending January 3 set records for traffic and sales, said Apple, with January 1 the biggest day in the App Store's history with over $144 million spent.

"The App Store had a holiday season for the record books. We are excited that our customers downloaded and enjoyed so many incredible apps for iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Apple TV, spending over $20 billion on the App Store last year alone," said Philip Schiller, Apple's senior vice president of Worldwide Marketing.

"We're grateful to all the developers who have created the most innovative and exciting apps in the world for our customers. We can't wait for what's to come in 2016."

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now