Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Twitch closes one-time parent

By Matthew Handrahan

Twitch closes one-time parent

Wed 06 Aug 2014 11:27am GMT / 7:27am EDT / 4:27am PDT

"Twitch is now the focus of the company's resources"

Twitch has officially closed, the video-streaming platform that led to its own creation. was the brainchild of Justin Kan, who started the site in March 2007 as a way of livestreaming the footage recorded by a camera attached to his head. The platform opened up to other users later that year, but the DIY reality TV angle simply didn't have legs.

In June 2011, the team decided to focus on its most popular channel, which hosted and broadcast livestreams of people playing games. That became Twitch, and the speed of its rise led the company to rebrand under that name in February this year.

Now, Twitch has closed the site for good. "Twitch is now the focus of the company's resources," the company said in a statemnet on the website. "Unfortunately that means we need to shut down We thank all of our broadcasters and viewers for seven years of live video memories."

Twitch recommended that's users continue to use its services for game-related content, but for anything else it has advised them to seek out similar services elsewhere.

Twitch is now believed to be in the final stages of talks with Google to close a $1 billion buyout deal.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now