Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Destiny beta boasts 4.6 million players

Destiny beta boasts 4.6 million players

Wed 30 Jul 2014 1:55pm GMT / 9:55am EDT / 6:55am PDT
Publishing

Activision claims sampling of Bungie's new shooter most popular console beta ever for a new IP

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

The expectations surrounding Bungie's Destiny are immense, but early signs show no shortage of interest in the sci-fi shooter. Activision today announced that more than 4.6 million players took part in a cross-platform beta test for Destiny that ran from July 17 through July 27.

"This is the biggest beta of this console generation by a wide margin and the largest console beta ever for a new video game IP to date," Activision Publishing CEO Eric Hirshberg said. "Hosting a beta at this scale is an incredible feat, so we're thrilled to see the phenomenal response."

Destiny is set for release September 9 on Xbox 360, Xbox One, PlayStation 3, and PlayStation 4. It is the first release for Bungie since 2010's Halo: Reach. Activision has reportedly invested more than $500 million into the creation and promotion of Destiny, and analyst tracking of preorders has pegged the game as potentially selling between 10 million and 15 million copies.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now