Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Mario Kart 8 is Japanese #1

Mario Kart 8 is Japanese #1

Thu 05 Jun 2014 7:54am GMT / 3:54am EDT / 12:54am PDT
Retail

Sells 326,000 copies in debut week

Japan has new number ones on its software and hardware charts this week thanks to everyone's favourite Italian plumber. Mario Kart 8 sold 325,892 copies to get to number one, way ahead of its rival Mobile Suit Gundam Side Stories which entered the chart at number two with 82,048 sales.

  1. [Wii U] Mario Kart 8 - 325,892 (New entry)
  2. [PS3] Mobile Suit Gundam Side Stories - 82,048 (New entry)
  3. [3DS] Yokai Watch - 36,868 (Lifetime sales - 1,020,877)
  4. [PSV] Chou Megami Shinkou Noire Gekishin Black Heart - 28,397 (New entry)
  5. [PS3] Pro Evolution Soccer 2014: Aoki Samurai no Chousen - 27,406 (63,062)

In hardware the arrival of Mario Kart 8 helped give the Wii U a boost of more that 10,000 sales pushing it to the top of the chart, just ahead of the 3DS XL.

  1. Wii U - 19,312 (Last week - 9,024)
  2. 3DS XL - 18,776 (18,374)
  3. PlayStation Vita - 12,859 (14,070)
  4. PlayStation 3 - 6,922 (7,565)
  5. PlayStation 4 - 6,508 (7,543)
  6. 3DS - 4,957 (4,850)
  7. PSP - 1,421 (1,479)
  8. PlayStation Vita TV - 1,098 (1,142)
  9. Xbox 360 - 225 (202)

1 Comment

Carlos Bordeu Game Designer / Studio Co-Founder, ACE Team

77 115 1.5
Glad to see Mario Kart pushing more WiiU sales. I hope that this happening worldwide and that we see an even better boost with Smash Bros.

Posted:6 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now