Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Ex-LucasArts folk raise $1.5m for new studio

Ex-LucasArts folk raise $1.5m for new studio

Thu 05 Jun 2014 11:19am GMT / 7:19am EDT / 4:19am PDT
Development

First game due at the end of the year

A group of former LucasArts Singapore staff are launching a new studio, Booster Pack, and have just raised $1,475,000 to develop and market its first title.

"We are based in Singapore and are focused on developing mobile games. Right now we're in development of our first game which will launch towards the end of 2014," said the company in a statement.

The team is made up of games producer Kent Byers; lead designer Shane Gavin; senior engineer Chris Chu; and lead artist Benjamin Chevalier and the funding came courtesy of Cyberworld Studios, Ariel Star Group, and Kathrein Ventures.

LucasArts Singapore worked on titles like Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Jedi Alliance and the DS version of Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Republic Heroes.

"In Southeast Asia, it's really hard to bring together experienced teams, especially in Singapore, it's just that there are not many gaming companies here yet but it is growing," Byers told TechCrunch.

"We have worked together for four to five years, so we're the kind of team that knows what we are good at and what our strengths are. It's a rare chance to have that in Singapore. We've worked on Star Wars and other big IPs. Our team members have worked at Activision, Gameloft, Disney, so we have a long background of experience and I think that sets us apart from other companies here, especially in Southeast Asia."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now