Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Indian dev Octro raises $15 million

Indian dev Octro raises $15 million

Wed 04 Jun 2014 9:42am GMT / 5:42am EDT / 2:42am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

Sequioa Capital dips into its $530 million fund for Indian startups

India's leading mobile game developer Octro has raised $15 million in series A funding.

The investment comes from Sequoia Capital, which has pledged to help the company grow and find a larger audience for its products. Octro's business is based on taking classic Indian games - Rummy, Tombola and Teen Patti among them - and turning them into digital experiences for mobile.

"The key to our success has been our robust technology platform that allows for fast gameplay," said Octro CEO Saurabh Aggarwal in a statement.

"People simply love our games because we are reimagining games that have existed in the offline world for years and making them available on the mobile for people to play anytime, anywhere."

Sequoia Capital recently announced a $530 million investment fund specifically for India's booming startup scene.

To read GamesIndustry International's take on the potential of India as a market for games, follow the link.

1 Comment

Paul Johnson Managing Director / Lead code monkey, Rubicon Development

893 1,327 1.5
Here's a switch. Outsource it to the UK. Rubicon will make you a handful of games of this scope for a tenth of that money. Still plenty left to market them.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Paul Johnson on 5th June 2014 12:22am

Posted:4 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now