Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Steam hits 7 million concurrent users

Steam hits 7 million concurrent users

Mon 02 Dec 2013 9:17am GMT / 4:17am EST / 1:17am PST
RetailPublishing

Valve's PC platform added another million people over the last year

Valve's Steam distribution platform has hit 7 million concurrent users for the first time.

Steam achieved a lifetime high of almost 7.2 million concurrent users yesterday. As noted by PCGamesN, this continues Valve's impressive period of growth, which has seen the Kirkland-based company add 1 million concurrent users for the past two years running.

And the overall population of Steam is also growing. Valve confirmed that it had more than 65 million total users at the end of October.

Next year could be even more promising, with Valve poised to launch its Steam controller, Steam OS and a range of third-party, Steam-branded hardware.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now