Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Puzzle & Dragons passes 2 million downloads in North America

Puzzle & Dragons passes 2 million downloads in North America

Thu 07 Nov 2013 11:16pm GMT / 6:16pm EST / 3:16pm PST
MobileBusiness

GungHo's mobile gaming juggernaut continues to grow

GungHo Online Entertainment has announced that Puzzle & Dragons has crossed 2 million downloads in North America. To date the game has reached 23 million downloads in North America, Japan, and Korea. While Puzzle & Dragons is huge in Asia markets, GungHo is still trying to find its audience in the West.

"It hasn't seen a huge success, especially compared to Japan," GungHo president Kazuki Morishita told Siliconera last month. "We're looking at with a long term perspective and we will continue to update it with new content. We will finesse our service and have more promotions, so we will probably start pushing it more. In terms of how it is doing, we have been pretty surprised with how well it is doing. It is sort of unexpected of what we initially forecasted. It's doing well and hopefully after we push a lot more people will be able to play it and have fun with it."

GungHo and Softbank recently purchased a 51 percent stake in Clash of Clans developer Supercell, in a deal worth $1.5 billion. Japanese telecom firm Softbank already has a 58 percent stake in GungHo entertainment.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now