Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

God of War: Ascension director quits Sony Santa Monica

God of War: Ascension director quits Sony Santa Monica

Mon 04 Nov 2013 9:21am GMT / 4:21am EST / 1:21am PST
DevelopmentJobs

Todd Papy heading to Germany, staying in the industry

Sony Santa Monica game director Todd Papy has announced his departure on social media after more than three years in the role.

He promised Twitter followers that he hadn't quit games, and revealed he was headed to Germany, home to studios like Crytek and Bigpoint.

"We decided to move to Germany. We want to experience a different culture & all the wonderful things that Europe has to offer."

Papy was most recently the director on God of War: Ascension, but joined Sony Santa Monica in April 2003 as a senior designer. He left for a brief stint with Atari, but returned in July 2006 and has been with the company ever since.

Earlier this year the studio announced that God of War II director Cory Barlog was returning to work on a secret and "freaking huge" new project.

Image credit: Jan Graber

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now