Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

SpecialEffect extends race places following overwhelming demand

SpecialEffect extends race places following overwhelming demand

Fri 01 Nov 2013 9:22am GMT / 5:22am EDT / 2:22am PDT
Events

Race 500 cars from Oxford to Le Touquet and back again for charity

Places for the SpecialEffect Challenge - a race from Oxford to Le Touquet in France and back again - have been extended following overwhelming demand.

The race takes in iconic circuits Brands Hatch, Le Mans and Croix En Ternois, with teams entering cars that cost no more than 500 while raising money for video game charity SpecialEffect.

"The emphasis is firmly on fun. It's much more than experiencing the racing circuits," said organiser Brendon Cross, MD at STL Communications.

"As it's a points-based challenge rather than a race, we'll be keeping the teams on their toes with plenty of outlandish non-motoring mini-games during the four days. We are looking forward to giving extra points for fancy dress and themed cars. Teams whose cars don't make the distance will be transferred to The Bus of Shame, which will accompany the event."

More information on the event (which takes place 23-26 May 2014) and applications for a place on the race can be found at the official website.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now