Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GTA V now biggest UK game launch ever

GTA V now biggest UK game launch ever

Wed 18 Sep 2013 5:25pm GMT / 1:25pm EDT / 10:25am PDT
Retail

Rockstar's hit title quickly sold 1.57 million units on its first day at retail

GTA V has been dominating the headlines this week, and here's another one: The game is now the UK's fastest selling title in history. GTA V sold over 1.57 million units on its first day, according to GfK Chart-Track, and generated revenues of 65 million across the PS3 and Xbox 360 releases.

That puts GTA V above the previous record holder, Activision's Call of Duty: Black Ops which sold 1.41 million units and generated 58 million back on November 9, 2010, across the Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, DS and PC formats.

Rockstar's latest has been a critical darling, garnering near perfect scores at many game enthusiast publications, and financially it's expected to bring in $1 billion during its first month on the market, according to RW Baird analyst Colin Sebastian.

Publisher Take-Two has not yet issued any official worldwide totals for the game. North American figures are likely to become available next month with the next NPD report.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now