Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Dota 2 tournament gets 1 million concurrent viewers

Dota 2 tournament gets 1 million concurrent viewers

Wed 14 Aug 2013 11:03am GMT / 7:03am EDT / 4:03am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

International Dota 2 Championship doubles previous year's total

Valve's global Dota 2 championship attracted a high of 1 million simultaneous viewers, doubling the previous week's total.

The five-day International Dota 2 Championship was held in Seattle last weekend. It was broadcast by three separate online services: Valve's own service, Twitch, and Gamefy in China.

The peak of 1 million concurrent viewers is a cumulative figure taken from all three broadcasts. However, it excludes viewers of numerous television broadcasts, and attendees of "Pubstomp" viewing events in more than 40 countries worldwide.

The tournament was contested by 16 of the best Dota 2 teams. Between Valve's contribution and money raised by the Dota 2 community, the total prize pool was $2.8 million.

Along with League of Legends, Dota 2 is one of the most important games in the flourishing market for eSports. In July, Riot Games confirmed that League of Legends is now officially recognised as a professional sport by the U.S. State Department - the first time a game has received the designation, and a major milestone in the development of the scene.

In November last year, Valve signed a deal with Nexon to publish Dota 2 in Japan and South Korea, the latter of which is one of the world's leading countries for eSports.

1 Comment

"doubling the previous week's total."

week = year correct?

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now