Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Club Nintendo hacked in Japan

Club Nintendo hacked in Japan

Fri 05 Jul 2013 2:50pm GMT / 10:50am EDT / 7:50am PDT
Security

Nintendo's consumer rewards club hacked in Japan

Nintendo has announced (translated via Kotaku) that the Japanese version of its consumer rewards site, Club Nintendo, has been hacked. The company had a large number of access errors on July 2, which led to a full investigation. Nintendo found 23,000 unauthorized log-ins out of 15 million attempts between June 9 and July 4.

Club Nintendo sites in other countries were unaffected, but members in Japan may have had their full names, addresses, and phone numbers compromised. Nintendo is strengthening its security to prevent another intrusion and is asking Club Nintendo members to change their passwords via email.

3 Comments

Rick Lopez Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 942 0.7
I really hate when hackers hack, companies that play nice with consumers.

Posted:A year ago

#1

David M Lopez Studying Game Art and Design, Art Institute of California - San Diego

8 2 0.3
Surprise Nintendo is the last to get hacked. Last in everything..

Posted:A year ago

#2

Jim Webb Executive Editor/Community Director, E-mpire Ltd. Co.

2,270 2,439 1.1
Being that this was their Club Nintendo system in Japan and not their online infrastructure, Nintendo is still the only player out there not to get hacked in that arena.

And 23,000 unauthorized out of 15 million attempts is actually pretty damn impressive for the security. That's a positive hit of 1 out of every 652 attempts. A basic dictionary attack will almost always yield more than that.

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now