Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo targets Steel Diver for free-to-play

Nintendo targets Steel Diver for free-to-play

Wed 19 Jun 2013 3:12pm GMT / 11:12am EDT / 8:12am PDT
Free-to-Play

Miyamoto reveals the series that will be the company's first experiment

During an investor presentation at E3 2013 last week, Nintendo revealed that it was looking into creating its first free-to-play game, but wouldn't be using popular franchises like Pokemon or Mario for the title. In an interview with IGN, Nintendo guru Shigeru Miyamoto said that the company is working on a multiplayer Steel Diver for the business model.

"There is something we're doing with the Steel Diver idea that I think is going to open things up with that game... It's going to be very fun. We're exploring from a perspective of where we can take that from a multiplayer standpoint - it's going to have this four-player battle mode that I think is going to be very interesting," Miyamoto said.

The company is still looking into how the free-to-play aspect of the game will work. Miyamoto and his team are working to balance the pricing model against the game's entertainment value.

"It's something that we're hoping to be able to show relatively soon," Miyamoto said.

1 Comment

Michael Bennett Senior Designer, The Creative Assembly

39 12 0.3
Hah!

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now