Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

State of Decay sells 250K copies in 2 days

State of Decay sells 250K copies in 2 days

Mon 10 Jun 2013 8:47am GMT / 4:47am EDT / 1:47am PDT
Retail

"All we had was what we believed was a great game and a great community"

Undead Labs has revealed that its open world zombie game for Xbox Live Arcade, State Of Decay, sold more than 250,000 copies after 48 hours on sale.

"We have sold more than a quarter million copies since we released the game two days ago. State of Decay has smashed all kinds of records. The only game that ever sold more on XBLA this fast was Minecraft... an already hugely popular game," said Sanya Weathers, community director at Undead Labs.

The game was released on June 5 and currently has a Metacritc score of 75. The team are also planning a PC release for the title.

"We did not have an ad budget. We didn't have a physical copy to load onto shelves, no worldwide multimedia push, no studio reputation with millions of followers. All we had was what we believed was a great game and a great community. And make no mistake, a solid game is not enough, not in 2013. Plenty of great games wither away in obscurity."

2 Comments

Nic Wechter
Senior Designer

27 46 1.7
This is so encouraging to read, great to see people being rewarded financially for their hard work.

Posted:10 months ago

#1

Tyler Moore
Game Designer & Unity Developer

51 14 0.3
Amazing story, amazing team, amazing game. Great stuff!

Posted:10 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now