Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Crytek taking Warface to Japan

Crytek taking Warface to Japan

Thu 16 May 2013 1:23pm GMT / 9:23am EDT / 6:23am PDT
Development

Partnership with Nexon for free-to-play first-person shooter

Crytek is taking its free-to-play first-person shooter Warface to Japan via a partnership with Nexon.

The game now boasts over 10 million players in Russia, and is also in beta across South Korea and Europe.

"Expanding Warface to Japan is a very important step for us," said Cevat Yerli, CEO of Crytek. "Since it's a global IP, this move perfectly underlines our strategy in sharing the game's unique action with gamers around the world.

"Nexon is a very trusted partner; they have shown us tremendous results in South Korea, where Warface just entered open beta after receiving highly positive feedback from gamers during closed beta, and we are sure that they will play a key role in ensuring Warface's success in Japan as well."

2 Comments

Paul Jace
Merchandiser

868 1,273 1.5
I really doubt the majority of Japanese gamers will care about Warface, considering how much they generally don't enjoy fps games.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Private
Industry

1,176 182 0.2
I think FPS games can be successful in Japan to a certain extend if you don't expect to beat games like FF, MH or other big franchises. That its PC only won't help in a market that is dominated by consoles.

BO2 was second in the Japanese charts behind Animal Crossing.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Private on 18th May 2013 1:24am

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now