Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Microsoft sunsetting Points payment system

Microsoft sunsetting Points payment system

Wed 15 May 2013 5:53pm GMT / 1:53pm EDT / 10:53am PDT
Business

Microsoft Points are going away as the next Xbox hits the scene

According to a report by The Verge, Microsoft is killing the Microsoft Points system for purchases on the Xbox 360. Anonymous sources said that Microsoft would instead switch to a new gift card system. The company has already switched to real currency for Windows Store purchases on Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8.

The new gift cards will work like iTunes and Google Play cards you can already purchase at retail. The system will be active across the Windows Store, Windows Phone Store, and the Xbox Marketplace. Microsoft will also allow cash transactions using credit and debit cards.

The change is expected to be unveiled at E3 and launched by time the new Xbox hits retail.

[Image via The Verge]

3 Comments

gi biz
;,pgc.eu

341 51 0.1
Always on the edge! If only this was 2002...

Posted:A year ago

#1

Kevin Clark-Patterson
Lecturer in Games Development

292 27 0.1
Spend! Spend! Spend!

Posted:A year ago

#2

Paul Jace
Merchandiser

920 1,372 1.5
Thats fine with me, as long as they convert all of my current points into real world cash.

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now