Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Blockbuster targets bank holiday sales

Blockbuster targets bank holiday sales

Fri 03 May 2013 9:30am GMT / 5:30am EDT / 2:30am PDT
Retail

Retailer hoping to attract new consumers with weekend promotions

The recently rescued entertainment chain Blockbuster has revealed its focusing on this bank holiday weekend as an opportunity to drive sales and rentals.

It hopes to attract consumers with price cuts on movie rentals over the next three days, and in the future plans to add music and books to the games and films it already offers.

"We are absolutely focused on building Blockbuster to be a long-term proposition," said MD Gary Warren.

There is a very real gap in the market for an entertainment specialist and, with its strong brand recognition and heritage, Blockbuster is perfectly placed to capitalise on this. We are committed to supporting all of our 264 stores and hope to eventually grow the business and create jobs in the local area."

Blockbuster was acquired last month by Gordon Brothers Europe, a move that at the time saved 264 stores and 2,000 jobs. The company had entered administration in January.

1 Comment

Christopher Thigpen
Lead Producer

47 92 2.0
Dear Blockbuster,

You are busted. So is your assumptions on weekend capitalism. You are no longer an "entertainment specialist". The internet has killed the video store.

Unless you are streaming, your profits will be thin.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now