Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox Live at 46m users as Xbox division sees sales jump 56%

Xbox Live at 46m users as Xbox division sees sales jump 56%

Thu 18 Apr 2013 8:22pm GMT / 4:22pm EDT / 1:22pm PDT
OnlineFinancial

The Entertainment and Devices division saw profits of $342 million in Q3

Microsoft has just announced its third-quarter fiscal results for the period ended March 31, 2013, and it was an encouraging period for the Entertainment and Devices Division which houses the Xbox business. Total revenues climbed 56 percent year-over-year to $2.53 billion, while the division enjoyed an operating income of $342 million compared to a net loss last year during the same period of $228 million.

Microsoft highlighted that Xbox Live now has over 46 million members worldwide, which represents an 18 percent increase from the prior year period. In addition, the company noted that Xbox 360 platform revenue in particular increased 55 percent ($641 million) which was "primarily due to the recognition of $380 million of revenue related to the Video Game Deferral and higher Xbox Live revenue." Windows Phone revenue also increased by $259 million, including patent licensing revenue and increased sales of Windows Phone licenses.

Microsoft will be announcing its March Xbox 360 numbers later today in conjunction with The NPD Group's monthly report.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now