Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

FIFA brand makes over 1 billion at UK retail

FIFA brand makes over 1 billion at UK retail

Fri 25 Jan 2013 9:17am GMT / 4:17am EST / 1:17am PST
Retail

Franchise is first to achieve benchmark - CoD, Mario just behind

The FIFA brand has become the first gaming property to net over 1 billion at UK retail, tracking body GFK-Chart-Track has revealed.

Speaking to CVG, GFK also broke the figures down slightly - pointing out that although FIFA's total comes from 40 different games, over 200 million as been made from the last two instalments at retail alone. Consider that this is unlikely to include cash from the series' hugely popular Ultimate Team market and you start to get an idea of how golden the goose really is.

Just behind FIFA on the revenue stakes is Call of Duty, which has collected 800 million at UK retail over the course of 19 games, with Mario's diverse offerings in third place.

However, as CVG's story clarifies, Chart-Track only has data from 1996 onwards, a date preceded by many FIFA and Mario games alike.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now