Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Blockbuster US to close 300 stores

Blockbuster US to close 300 stores

Wed 23 Jan 2013 8:32am GMT / 3:32am EST / 12:32am PST
Retail

Job cuts to affect around 40 per cent of staff

As the UK arm deals with the tricky administration process, Blockbuster in the US faces 300 store closures and a cut of around 3000 staff.

The news was confirmed to CNNMoney by John Hall, spokesman for the Dish Network, which owns the US brand.

"We continue to see value in the Blockbuster brand and we will continue to analyse store level profitability and -- as we have in the past -- close unprofitable stores."

Around 500 Blockbuster outlets will remain open across the country. It was not confirmed which stores will be allowed to continue trading, but Hall suggested both performance and leases would be factors. The job cuts meanwhile could affect up to 40 per cent of employees.

Dish bought Blockbuster in 2010 in a bankruptcy auction.

A week ago Blockbuster UK appointed administrators Deloitte, a move which has resulted in the closure of 160 of the company's 528 stores.

2 Comments

Blockbuster still had stores in the US?

Posted:A year ago

#1

Paul Jace
Merchandiser

925 1,381 1.5
I didn't know they had any stores left here, let alone 800, I can't imagine anyone still renting from them at those prices.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now