Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nielsen: Kids want iOS and Wii U for the holidays

Nielsen: Kids want iOS and Wii U for the holidays

Tue 20 Nov 2012 8:39pm GMT / 3:39pm EST / 12:39pm PST
Marketing

Apple will sell a number of iPads in the next six months

A new study by Nielsen shows that children aged 6 to 12 want iOS devices and Nintendo's Wii U over the next six months. Apple's iPad leads with 48 percent, followed by 39 percent of children pining for the Wii U. 36 percent want the new iPad mini and iPod Touch, while 33 percent want any version of the iPhone.

Losers in the 6 to 12 demographics include the Microsoft Surface tablet (6 percent), a Samsung Galaxy product (9 percent), and the PlayStation Vita (14 percent), which sits below its predecessor the PlayStation Portable (18 percent). The full chart is below:

kids

When it comes to those over the age of 12, 21 percent want Apple's iPad. A computer follows with 19 percent and non-iPad tablets sit at 18 percent. Nintendo's Wii U shows up in fourth place with 17 percent and the iPhone has 14 percent.

Those 13 years and older don't seem to care about the Apple TV, which only has 2 percent. The entire Nintendo DS family, Microsoft Surface, PlayStation Portable, and PlayStation have only 6 percent expressing purchasing interest in the next six months. The full chart is below:

adults

[Image via Fast Company]

3 Comments

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
Apple shares are so cheap just now.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Craig Page
Programmer

382 218 0.6
Wow so more kids would rather get an e-reader for Christmas than a Playstation Vita? That has to be embarrassing for Sony...

Posted:A year ago

#2

Andrew Goodchild
Studying development

1,235 396 0.3
Especially because no one wants a Sony e-reader.

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now