Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Rockstar forms new animation unit with Technicolor

Rockstar forms new animation unit with Technicolor

Fri 05 Oct 2012 12:46pm GMT / 8:46am EDT / 5:46am PDT
OutsourcingDevelopment

Following work on Red Dead Redemption and Max Payne 3, dev formalises relationship with studio

Grand Theft Auto publisher Rockstar has entered into a new agreement with Technicolor to create a high-end game and art team.

Exclusive to Rockstar Games, the deal follows previous partnerships with Technicolor's Bangalore production studio on games such as Red Dead Redemption, L.A. Noire and Max Payne 3.

"Technicolor were a fantastic resource for us during the development of Max Payne 3", said Jeronimo Barrera, VP of Development at Rockstar Games. "We're looking forward to building the partnership on future projects."

Technicolor produces CG animation for TV, direct-to-video, the ad industry and video games, and boasts clients such as DreamWorks, EA, Sony, Square Enix and Mattel.

"This partnership reinforces Technicolor's strong commitment and strategy to growing its art and animation business for the video game industry and we are proud to work with cutting edge industry leaders like Rockstar Games," added Tim Sarnoff, president of Technicolor Digital Productions.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now