Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Gundam beats Dead or Alive to top the Japanese charts

Gundam beats Dead or Alive to top the Japanese charts

Thu 04 Oct 2012 8:26am GMT / 4:26am EDT / 1:26am PDT

PSP Gundam game sells more than 200,000 units in debut week, Vita nears 1 million sales milestone

SD Gundam G Generation Overworld entered the Japanese charts at number one in a busy week for new games.

According to data from Media Create, reported by Siliconera, Namco Bandai's PSP game provided further evidence of the ongoing popularity in the Japanese market, selling 209,815 units in its debut week. The PlayStation 3 version of Dead or Alive 5 took second place with 66,586 units - a further 14,811 units of the Xbox 360 version were also sold.

In total, there were 9 new entries in the top 20, including United Front's Sleeping Dogs, which entered the chart in sixth place.

In hardware, the Nintendo 3DS and 3DS XL continued to dominate, selling a combined total of more than 80,000 units. The PlayStation Vita sold just under 15,000 units, leaving it just 5,000 units short of the 1 million milestone.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now