Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Future shuts down Nintendo Gamer magazine

By Rachel Weber

Future shuts down Nintendo Gamer magazine

Thu 30 Aug 2012 3:36pm GMT / 11:36am EDT / 8:36am PDT

UK publisher closes magazine ahead of Wii U launch

Future Publishing has closed its independent Nintendo magazine, Nintendo Gamer.

"After careful consideration we've taken the decision to close Nintendo Gamer magazine," publisher Lee Nutter told Future Publishing's CVG.

"However, with Future's ongoing strategy to drive digital growth across its international, digitally-focussed brand business, the website, will continue as excitement builds ahead of Nintendo's Wii U launch."

The magazine launched in 2006, and its total average net circulation for 2011 was 7,745.

Future will continue to publish its licensed Nintendo publication, Official Nintendo Magazine.

From Recommendations by Taboola


Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,283 444 0.3
It's pretty amazing that they've been able to sustain rest least 3 separate Nintendo specific magazines in recent years anyway.

Posted:3 years ago


Peter Dwyer Games Designer/Developer

490 302 0.6
Yea Nintendo's magazine coverage seems to be going backwards as the launch get's nearer. First Nintendo Power on the other side of the pond and now this. Seems more than a little odd to me.

Posted:3 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now