Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision Leeds working on Call of Duty handheld titles

Activision Leeds working on Call of Duty handheld titles

Fri 06 Jul 2012 11:58am GMT / 7:58am EDT / 4:58am PDT
Development

Handheld and iOS games in development at new mobile studio

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Activision's new UK studio in Leeds is working on handheld and iOS versions of the publisher's Call of Duty franchise.

The studio was established by ex-Team 17 founder Martyn Brown in November last year, and counts ex-Rockstar employees Mark Washbrook and Mark Lloyd on the payroll.

Although Activision has confirmed the studio is working on publisher franchises, it's Andy Payne, Mastertronic boss, who has revealed to Videogamer that the team is specifically working on its key console franchise.

The studio plans to grow to around 40 employees and has been hailed as a vote of confidence in the UK development scene.

1 Comment

All of them will be made redundant if the revenue generation is not as Activision expects. We have seen the massacre when Guitar and DJ Hero franchises were canned. They both were successful franchises which had reached some stagnation due to 0 innovation.

Anyways, back to the topic:
Any idea about a PS Vita version for COD?

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now