Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

US author settles with Gametrailers, puts case against Ubi on hold

US author settles with Gametrailers, puts case against Ubi on hold

Wed 30 May 2012 8:03am GMT / 4:03am EDT / 1:03am PDT
Legal

Beiswenger case over Assassin's Creed on back burner for now

John L. Beiswenger, the US author of novel Link, has put his legal action against Ubisoft on hold after settling similar claims with Gametrailers out of court.

Beiswenger was suing both entities over perceived similarities between Link and the Assassin's Creed series. Ubisoft were under legal scrutiny as the series' creators, whilst Beiswenger was pursuing Gametrailers over a series of related videos.

Eleven charges of copyright infringement were raised in total but Beiswenger has now decided to refocus on "unrelated business matters", but has dismissed the case against Ubisoft in such a way that he will be able to reinstate it if he sees fit.

"He is unwavering in his belief that many key components of theAssassin's Creed video game franchise infringe on many key components of his novel, Link," read a statement from his legal counsel. Terms of his agreement with Gametrailers were not revealed.

1 Comment

I remember reading about this case with Ubisoft, but where did this issue with Gametrailers come from? Series of related videos? Is there any more info than that? It seems weird that they would settle out of court in a copyright infringement case. If they're hosting a video that infringes copyright, can they be held liable for the content producer's infringement? Did they create a video infringing on his novel?

Or was that case something else entirely?

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now