Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Crytek-developed Warface sets Russian record for simultaneous players

Crytek-developed Warface sets Russian record for simultaneous players

Fri 11 May 2012 8:09pm GMT / 4:09pm EDT / 1:09pm PDT
Emerging MarketsOnline

MMOFPS Warface has seen over 1 million players register

Mail.ru Games GmbH

About Mail.ru Games GmbH
Mail.Ru Games is one of the leading publishers of online games, developing...

mailrugames.com

Publisher Mail.Ru Group has announced that its Crytek-developed MMOFPS, Warface, has set a Russian record with 28,000 players competing simultaneously. As of May 10, 2012, Warface boasts over 1 million registered users in the region.

"We are extremely satisfied with the Warface results and we are happy that the hard work done by our team over the title has been so fruitful," said Vladimir Nikolsky, vice president of Mail.Ru's Game Division. "We intend to keep up the good work and make Warface not merely a successful game, but also a huge brand and a cybersport discipline, like we did with Cross Fire."

"We chose Russia to be the debut market for our title, since we have always had a great reception with Russian gamers and had great confidence in Mail.Ru Group's ability to achieve success. We are extremely happy with the launch, the great work from Mail.Ru Group and the massive effort from our development team and can't wait to let people around the world play Warface," said Crytek managing director Avni Yerli.

Warface's record builds on the success Mail.Ru had with its first MMOFPS, Cross Fire.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now