Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

European commissioner casts doubt on ACTA

European commissioner casts doubt on ACTA

Thu 10 May 2012 9:14am GMT / 5:14am EDT / 2:14am PDT
Politics

Kroes "observing political reality" over Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement

The Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement isn't just facing protests in the streets, now European commissioner for telecoms and technology Neelie Kroes has questioned its chances of being ratified.

The Guardian reported that Kroes has admitted the agreement may not be ratified by the European Union.

"We are now likely to be in a world without SOPA and ACTA," said Kroes.

A spokesman for the commissioner later added that she was simply "observing political reality," and she still supported the controversial agreement.

ACTA is a treaty treaty that covers piracy, counterfeit goods and IP infringement.

"ACTA is a plurilateral treaty that seeks to improve the global enforcement of intellectual property rights through the creation of common enforcement standards and practices and more effective international cooperation," explains the UK's Intellectual Property Office.

"ACTA will not create new intellectual property rights, laws, or criminal offences in the UK and EU but will provide an international framework that strengthens international enforcement in areas of intellectual property."

For more on ACTA, check out the GamesIndustry International podcast which features contributions from Thomas Bidaux, Alec Meer and Iain Gilfeather.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now