Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Guild Wars 2 dev has content plans for "years to come"

Guild Wars 2 dev has content plans for "years to come"

Mon 23 Apr 2012 7:46pm GMT / 3:46pm EDT / 12:46pm PDT
GamesOnline

One of the most anticipated MMOs of this year is looking towards the long-term game

Guild Wars 2 developer Arenanet has just recently begun a pre-purchase program for the title, but their plans for the game are long-term and will be expanding for "years to come".

"You may not realize this, we have development plans in our back pocket for literally years to come," ArenaNet senior vice president Randall Price told Eurogamer.

"We know a number of the high-level features that we're going to do, and expansion content for years to come. No, it's not drilled down in a way that is - it's all at the five-thousand foot level and above, from a big picture [perspective]. But every month we go through time, we get closer and it gets down and, OK, now we're actually creating content for it," said Price.

Price reiterated a common idea in the past year: that games are becoming a service instead of simply a done-in-one retail product.

"Look,even from our standpoint we've got years of work, of great work, that players are going to be able to enjoy," he said. "We're launching a service - you don't launch a box and be done with it. We have years of awesome, fun work ahead of us."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now