Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Prince of Persia source code retrieved and released

Prince of Persia source code retrieved and released

Tue 17 Apr 2012 8:38pm GMT / 4:38pm EDT / 1:38pm PDT

Creator Jordan Mechner has released the source code to original Prince of Persia

Prince of Persia creator Jordan Mechner has posted the source code for the original Prince of Persia on GitHub. The source was coded in 6502 assembly language and was retrieved from a 22-year old 3.5" floppy by Mechner with the help of Jason Scot and Tony Diaz.

"We extracted and posted the 6502 code because it was a piece of computer history that could be of interest to others, and because if we hadn't, it might have been lost for all time. We did this for fun, not profit. As the author and copyright holder of this source code, I personally have no problem with anyone studying it, modifying it, attempting to run it, etc," Mechner wrote on the GitHub page.

In addition to the original code, Mechner has included a technical document he created to benefit the terms that ported Prince of Persia to PC, Amiga, Sega Genesis, and more. His original development journals are also available for purchase here.

Prince of Persia was originally released for the Apple II by Broderbund Software in 1989.

1 Comment

Neil Millstone
Director

32 12 0.4
This is brilliant! Why no comments? If this wasn't the first type of motion capture tech, it was certainly one of the first. This type of thing should happen more often!

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now