Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

University of Colorado gets $1.5m grant for educational games research

Thu 16 Feb 2012 9:50am GMT / 4:50am EST / 1:50am PST
Education

National Science Foundation offers purse to aid computer science course

The University of Colorado at Boulder has been granted a $1.5 million research bursary to develop educational games designed to engage students in computer sciences.

The money comes from the National Science Foundation and will fund an evolution of the iDreams program - which uses game programming to encourage students to produce models of STEM (Science, technology, engineering and maths) based phenomena.

That program eventually included 100 teaching staff and over 8000 pupils, spreading to Alaska, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas and Wyoming after being founded in Colorado.

The team behind the iDreams program will be the recipient of the new funding and will implement the new methodology in the university's teaching.

2 Comments

Harrison Smith
Studying Games and Graphics Programming

75 4 0.1
Spend that 1.5 million and buy whole lot of space chem and they are all set. But this is good, I say you can teach history, English, math and science all though games, and a future where homework is playing a level would be not a bad future at all. A Text adventure is a great way to teach spelling, since you need that correct word to continue on.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Cynthia Gutierrez
Student

3 0 0.0
Yes I totally agree, its a great additional way to get students to learn through an interactive experience compared to studying the same subjects through a textbook.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now