Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GameStop: PlayStation 3, 3DS sales up on price cuts

Fri 19 Aug 2011 8:13am GMT / 4:13am EDT / 1:13am PDT
RetailHardware

Retailer encouraged following poor hardware performance in second quarter

US retailer GameStop has reported that sales of the PlayStation 3 and Nintendo's 3DS have already jumped after both received recent price cuts.

While the 3DS price cut was larger than expected, president Tony Bartel told investors last night he's encouraged by the growth in hardware - sales of console in the second quarter were down, accounting for only 7.5 per cent of profits.

"We have seen a significant acceleration in the sale of PlayStation 3 and the 3DS," he said. "So we do expect for there to be an increase.

"Although these were not unexpected price decreases or price reductions that we had projected, obviously, the 3DS was somewhat larger than what we had anticipated. But we do see that will spark demand in the third and the fourth quarter."

"That is a good barometer for what is going to take place in terms of the installed base."

Nintendo dropped the price of the 3DS this last week with plenty of warning after poor sales, while Sony cut the RRP of the PlayStation 3 with immediate effect this week.

Another US retailer, Target, told our sister site IndustryGamers that it has also seen an "immediate lift" in sales.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now