Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Gameloft creates 150 jobs with New Orleans studio

Mon 15 Aug 2011 7:37am GMT / 3:37am EDT / 12:37am PDT
Publishing

French mobile publisher takes advantage of Louisiana tax breaks with new facility

The French mobile publisher Gameloft is planning to open a studio in New Orleans, Joystiq reports.

The new facility will take advantage of the tax breaks awarded by the state of Louisiana in July 2009, which give tech companies a 25 per cent tax credit and a 35 per cent payroll credit.

"As it stands, we expect to employ an approximate 150 people in our New Orleans studio over the course of the next 10 years," Samir El Agili, Gameloft's general studio manager for the US and Latin America, told Joystiq.

"But with the fast pace and rapid expansion of the handheld and downloadable market we will adjust that number accordingly should we find it necessary."

The studio will focus on developging games for mobile, Xbox Live, PlayStation Network, Facebook and future connected consoles.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now