Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA and Rovio call for Apple aid in Lodsys suit

Thu 11 Aug 2011 9:18am GMT / 5:18am EDT / 2:18am PDT
LegalDevelopment

Court filing states Apple's help is "critical" in resolving patent dispute with Lodsys

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

EA

Electronic Arts and Rovio have issued a court filing insisting that Apple should be allowed to intervene in the patent lawsuit with Lodsys LLC.

Lodsys began legal action against seven App Store developers in May due to alleged patent infringements.

Apple believes that the developers are covered by its existing licensing agreement with Lodsys. The company issued a cease and desist letter and a court filing in defence of the developers, but Lodsys chose to continue with its cases.

According to Bloomberg, the filing from EA and Rovio states that, "the participation of Apple as a party in this lawsuit is critical to the development of the very evidence needed to establish what may prove to be a complete defence to the infringement claims in this action."

Lodsys has objected on the grounds that EA and Rovio have the resources to manage their own defence, citing a lack of evidence of disruption to their relationship with Apple.

No date has been set for the judge's ruling on Apple's intervention in the case.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now