Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

First post-release new 3DS SKU unveiled

Thu 09 Jun 2011 9:29am GMT / 5:29am EDT / 2:29am PDT
Hardware

Nintendo releasing red version of handheld in July

Nintendo has announced a new 'flare red' version of its latest handheld, the 3DS.

This is the first new 3DS SKU since its release in March this year. Images of the red version were released last Summer, but to date only black and blue SKUs have been available.

The red handheld will arrive there on July 14, reports AndriaSang, day and date with Star Fox 64 3D, a remake of a respected older Nintendo title. So far, only a Japanese release of the flare red 3DS is confirmed.

3 Comments

I'm still torn as to whether buy a 3DS now (for the upcoming games), or wait (1-2 years) for the next iteration of the hardware. Having been a DS XL user for (at least a year?) now, I find the 3DS screen unbearably small to use - a bigger screen, and improved battery life would definitely sell me.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Haven Tso
Web-based Game Reviewer

255 8 0.0
The thing with 3DS is the lack of games and the stupid regional lock, which is a so last century policy. They don't have it on DS and GBA but then they have to put it on 3DS. Even PSP and PS3 don't have regional locks!

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Andrew Goodchild
Studying development

1,245 401 0.3
Nintendo 101, lets boost sales. Ok think tank, we... release a new colour?

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now